What are the 7 stages of child development?

There are seven stages that a human being goes through during his life. These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood, and old age. According to the Bodynamic System, a child's development goes through a series of specific overlapping age phases from the second trimester in the womb to the age of 12. We also consider adolescence as a significant period of personal development, and we know that later in life the personality is remodeled through a series of phases of adult development, overlapping and interacting with the character structures established during childhood and adolescence.

Both early and late positions result in distortions of self and relationships. For example, in the Structure of Need, the collapsed or early position is called Despair; the rigid or late one is called Distrustful; and the healthy or balanced position is called Self-Satisfying. Imagine a small baby whose very survival depends on meeting his basic needs. If the baby does not experience safety around this, he will fall into deep despair.

Sometimes, your basic needs for another baby may be met, and other times you may not. That baby may be wary of his caregivers. The child whose needs are met by a good enough mother will likely experience the feeling of being satisfied with himself; whether through contact, food, safety, love, play, or a clean diaper. Where the baby's experience of having basic satisfaction of basic needs is established in the relationship with parents, leading to the beginning of self-regulation.

In an adult, interruptions at this stage can manifest as a desperate or suspicious attitude about being able to meet their needs and not being aware of what their needs are or how to feel satisfaction. The child's curiosity and life force lead him to explore the world through an explosion of psychomotor skills. A trace of the child's impulses towards autonomy is formed. In an adult, interruptions of this stage can lead to a lack of awareness of one's own impulses and feelings, or to the fear of having to give up one's own impulses and feelings to be in a couple, leading to avoidance of commitments.

Where the child finds a place in their culture by learning to be a member of the group and the community. This is also a time to acquire and master high-level skills. In an adult, interruptions at this stage can cause fear of competing or excelling in a group (leveling up), or the need to be the star of any group despite the consequences for oneself or the group (competing). He can give his best and also accept when he fails or when another is better.

He is comfortable doing what his group needs and is able to recognize other people's abilities and support them if they need help. Physically, the healthy person has a straight back, an upright posture and flexible and fluid movements. He likes to use and develop his physical and mental abilities and will practice repeatedly to improve his skills. The first of the seven stages of child development is the newborn stage.

It is characteristic that the child adapts to the new environment, begins to experience stimuli and adapts to the demands of the environment. When the period of basic adaptation passes and manages to maintain itself in life, it begins to grow rapidly and move to a childhood stage. Here, the main problem for the newborn is the right diet that should allow his successful development of organs for their normal execution of the functions for which they are intended. The first signs of autonomy are the transition to the toddler stage, a period characterized by the fact that every day the toddler becomes even more independent in the environment and begins to show challenging behavior.

Now he is already transitioning to preschool age, he is increasingly socializing, his intelligence is developing rapidly and autonomy is growing. During this period of development, the child extends the circle of people with whom he contacts. Now you can leave home from time to time and go to another environment, in the neighborhood, among other children, kindergarten, etc. But the higher the standard of living and social development of the environment in which the child grows up, the higher the expectations set by the community vis-à-vis each member.

The individual must acquire greater knowledge, life experience, professional skills, emotional maturity, and only then will the child who is now a teenager meet all the requirements that the living community expects from him. After babies begin to crawl, stand and walk, their increased physical mobility leads to greater cognitive development. Near the end of the sensorimotor stage (18-24 months), babies reach another important milestone - early language development, a sign that they are developing some symbolic abilities. Developmental psychology has seven stages including childhood, childhood, lover, welding, justice, old age, and finally dementia and death.

Children continue to sleep a lot, eat well, and have loving relationships with parents and caregivers during the toddler years. In an adult, interruptions of this stage can lead to acting from a selfless position and having difficulties in planning, or to withholding power and appearing angry, while believing that if there is a problem it is someone else's fault. Piaget's theory of 1936 broke new ground because it discovered that children's brains work in very different ways than adults. If it develops properly, the child should switch to mixed foods during the first year of life, slowly stopping lactation.

Child development theories focus on explaining how children change and grow throughout childhood. In an adult, interruptions of this stage can lead to a division between amorous and sexual feelings, and a romantic or seductive way of being in a relationship. Although Piaget believed in intellectual growth for life, he insisted that the formal operational stage is the final stage of cognitive development. During this stage, cells begin to form a body system, the neural tube is formed, the head, eyes, nose and mouth begin, as well as the cardiovascular system.

By the end of the third year, speech is so well developed that the child can express his desires and feelings, shape his thoughts and speak. By the end of the third year, the child fully manages movements, such as motor skills, that he needs for smooth learning and use of the space around him. At this age, the child becomes able to separate his thoughts, intentions and actions; to make decisions and put all his power into his action. .


Sheldon Mccomas
Sheldon Mccomas

Unapologetic music junkie. Beer specialist. Devoted social media scholar. Unapologetic food geek. Professional internet geek.

Leave a Comment

All fileds with * are required