6 Stages of Child Development: A Comprehensive Guide

Child development is a process that involves the acquisition of skills and abilities as a child grows up. Different authorities emphasize different stages of development, but according to How Kids Develop, it typically includes newborns, infants, toddlers, preschoolers, school-age children, and adolescents. Failure to meet some of the milestones may indicate a developmental disability. A child development milestone is a skill that the child learns at a specific stage of development. The acquisition of milestones occurs in a certain sequence in the areas of physical, emotional and mental abilities.

A child graduates from one stage of development to the next after reaching certain milestones. For example, a child learns to crawl before walking and running. The Six Stages of Child Development Begin at Birth. The stage of development at school age is between six and 12 years of age. Children at this stage are more capable, independent and responsible, according to the book The Developing Person through Childhood and Adolescence.

The school-age child has increased motor skills and begins to develop secondary sexual characteristics. Peer relationships become important here and are usually with members of the same sex. After babies begin to crawl, stand and walk, their increased physical mobility leads to greater cognitive development. Near the end of the sensorimotor stage (18-24 months), babies reach another important milestone - early language development, a sign that they are developing some symbolic abilities. Piaget believed in intellectual growth for life, but he insisted that the formal operational stage is the final stage of cognitive development. He also said that continuous intellectual development in adults depends on the accumulation of knowledge. Associated play (3-4 years), when a child starts to interact with others during the game, but there is not a lot of interaction at this stage.

These stages are general guidelines for what to expect from your child's play skills, but remember that every child is different, and if you have concerns, let your health care provider know. If your child is younger than 3 years old, you can contact your state's early intervention program. If your child is 3 years old or older, you can talk to the director of special education at the public school near your home (even if your child is not enrolled in that school) to request a developmental evaluation. During an evaluation, the health care provider may ask you questions, interact with your child, or perform tests to learn more about what your child can and cannot do yet. A child aged three to six months is able to control head movements and play with hands together. It also becomes clear during this stage that a child is able to implement symbolism; he can use objects to symbolize others, such as using objects in the game to represent other things, a broom for a horse or a box for a car. You can also contact developmental specialists, early intervention programs, and special education programs at local schools to have a child evaluated. During the early stages, according to Piaget, babies are only aware of what is in front of them. Piaget's developmental stages are the basis of a well-known theory of early childhood development.

This stage of child development is characterized by a greater refinement of fine motor skills, according to the book Maternity and Pediatric Nursing. Infants, Toddlers, and School-Age Children Develop New Skills and Skills in a Steady Progression as They Grow Older. The key takeaway from this stage for designers is that everyone learns differently, and the most productive environments (whether at school or at work) are those that offer multiple ways to learn, think and grow. When your child starts playing with family and friends, be sure to teach them how to share, win, and lose. Adolescents who reach this fourth stage of intellectual development, usually from the age of 11, can use symbols related to abstract concepts such as algebra and science.

Sheldon Mccomas
Sheldon Mccomas

Unapologetic music junkie. Beer specialist. Devoted social media scholar. Unapologetic food geek. Professional internet geek.

Leave a Comment

All fileds with * are required